Agony, misery, woe

Oh it’s different for each.

I fell in love with a 1928 brick Tudor. She was a grand dame and I wanted to bring her back to her full glory. The moment I set foot inside that house, I knew I was home. I was unabashedly in love. I could see the myriad problems, the dollar signs piling up, but I easily looked past all of those things and vowed in my heart to love this house forever and restore her beautifully.

After the husband and I talked it over, we called our Realtor and said, “We want it. Let’s write an offer.” He told us he’d call the listing agent.

An hour later, we got the call: she was under contract. Even as we walked through “our” house that morning, someone else was writing an offer. How could she do this to us?! I was so depressed I couldn’t even look at other houses. None could stack up. Finally, on Tuesday, I was able to lift my eyes to browse other listings. I found one close to our current rental. Not in love, but it’s cute and the price is great, plus we know we love the neighborhood. So I sent it to our Realtor.

Much to my surprise, he called me half an hour later and very seriously asked, “Can you talk right now?” I was a little concerned… were we about to be fired? But no. Our Tudor was under contract, but the listing agent was concerned his buyer might walk. So he called our Realtor and asked if we could put in a back-up offer. YES times a thousand! We took all of 15 minutes to make that decision. The listing agent disclosed a $4000 sewer repair found on inspection. Were we willing to lose our dream house for $4k? No.

Unfortunately, neither were the other buyers. They ultimately went through with the deal and we lost our beautiful Tudor a second time. The heartbreak of this house search better be worth it. I can’t imagine going through this multiple times.

One thought on “Agony, misery, woe

Leave a Reply

